Vermont CPA Requirements

Vermont CPA Requirements

Wondering what it takes to become a licensed CPA in Vermont?

See what you need to become a CPA in your state

Download your FREE State CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in your state!

Vermont CPA Requirements

How to Become a CPA in Vermont

Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in Vermont. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensured details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.

Shop our CPA Review Course Packages

Education Requirements

Credit Requirements: No requirement

Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate Degree

Additional Requirements: 30 semester hours of upper division accounting, including 6 hours financial accounting, 3 hours auditing, 3 hours US income tax, 3 hours US business law, and 3 hours ethics

Residency Requirements

Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not required

Minimum Age: None

Additional Requirements: It is not necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state

Social Security Requirement: Yes

Educational Requirement: 150 hours (including Bachelor's Degree)

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Experience Requirements: 1 year experience which shall include public accounting experience and must include 500 hours of attest, of which no less than 200 hours must be related to the audit function

Ethics Exam: Pass the Ethics Exam within 2 years of filing for license

Vermont Board of Public Accountancy
Office of Professional Regulation
26 Terrace Street, Drawer 09
Montpelier, VT 05609-1106

Email: pskinner@sec.state.vt.us, cpaes-vt@nasba.org
Phone: 802-828-2837
Fax: 802-828-2465

Initial Application Fees $150
AUD $208.40
BEC $208.40
FAR $208.40
REG $208.40
Total $983.60

     *$75 re-examination application fee