New Jersey CPA Requirements

New Jersey CPA Requirements

Wondering what it takes to become a licensed CPA in New Jersey?

See what you need to become a CPA in your state

Download your FREE State CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in your state!

New Jersey CPA Requirements

How to Become a CPA in New Jersey

Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in New Jersey. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensured details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.

Shop our CPA Review Course Packages

Education Requirements

Credit Requirements: 120 semester hours

Minimum Degree: Bachelor's Degree in any field of study

Additional Requirements: 24 semester hours in accounting and 24 semester hours in business

Residency Requirements

Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not required

Minimum Age: 18

Additional Requirements: It is not necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state

Social Security Requirement: Yes

Educational Requirement: 150 hours (including Bachelor's Degree) with 24 semester hours in accounting and 24 semester hours in business, including statistics, commercial law, computer science, economics, and finance

Participates in International Exam Program: No

Experience Requirements: 1 year experience in the practice of public accountancy. For those with tax experience, 25% of your time must be spent in auditing, such as reviewing or drafting financial statements or the application of analytical review procedures

Ethics Exam: Pass the NJ Law and Ethics Exam (4 semester hours)

New Jersey State Board of Accountancy
124 Halsey Street, 6th Floor
PO Box 45000
Newark, NJ 07101

Email: askconsumeraffairs@lps.state.nj.us, cpaes-nj@nasba.org
Phone: 973-504-6380
Fax: 973-648-2855

Initial Application Fees $225
AUD $208.40
BEC $208.40
FAR $208.40
REG $208.40
Total $1,058.60

     *$75 re-examination application fee