Louisiana CPA Requirements

Louisiana CPA Requirements

Wondering what it takes to become a licensed CPA in Louisiana?

See what you need to become a CPA in your state

Download your FREE State CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in your state!

Louisiana CPA Requirements

How to Become a CPA in Louisiana

Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in Louisiana. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensured details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.

Shop our CPA Review Course Packages

Education Requirements

Credit Requirements: 150 semester units (225 quarter units)

Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate degree

Additional Requirements: 24 semester hrs or 21 graduate hrs in ACCT. 24 hrs of upper level in business, including 3 hrs of specified business law

Residency Requirements

Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is required

Minimum Age: None

Additional Requirements: Candidate must be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state. First time candidates must have maintained residency in the state for at least 120 days within one year prior to the testing date

Social Security Requirement: Yes

Educational Requirement: 150 Semester hours 

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Experience Requirements: 2 years of public accounting experience which must include the use of accounting or auditing skills including the issuance of reports on financial statement and at least one of the following: the provision of management advisory services, financial advisory services or consulting services, the preparation of tax returns, the furnishing of advice on tax matters

Ethics Exam: None

State Board of CPAs of Louisiana
601 Poydras Street, Suite 1770
New Orleans, LA 70130

Email: cpaes-la@nasba.org
Phone: 504-566-1244
Fax: 504-566-1252

Initial Application Fee $150
AUD $193.45
BEC $173.60
FAR $193.45
REG $173.60
Total $884.10

     *$75 re-examination application fee