Alaska CPA Requirements | Roger CPA Review

Alaska CPA Requirements

Alaska CPA Requirements

Wondering what it takes to become a licensed CPA in Alaska?

How to Become a CPA in Alaska

Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in Alaska. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensured details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.



Shop our CPA Review Course Packages

Be the first to know 2017 CPA Requirements!

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date on next year’s CPA Requirements

Alaska CPA Requirements

Education Requirements

Credit Requirements: 150 semester units (225 quarter units) needed for certification, but not needed to sit for the exam

Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate degree

Additional Requirements: 24 semester hours or equivalent quarter hours in accounting (intermediate accounting can be included) and 3 hours each of business law, economics, and college math/computer science

Residency Requirements

Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship not required

Minimum Age: 19

Additional Requirements: It is not necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state

Social Security Requirement: Yes

Education Requirement: 150 Hours in addition to Bachelor's Degree

Participates in International Exam Program: Yes

Experience Requirements: 2 years in public accounting or 3 years in private or government accounting. All experience must include 500 hours of attest

Ethics Exam: Must pass AICPA Professional Ethics Exam for initial licensure 

 

Alaska State Board of Public Accountancy
Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806

Email: license@commerce.state.ak.us

Phone: 907-465-3811

Fax: 907-465-2974

Initial Application Fees $175
AUD $193.45
BEC $173.60
FAR $193.45
REG $173.60
Total $909.10

     *$85 re-examination application fee