West Virginia CPA Requirements
Wondering what it takes to become a licensed CPA in West Virginia?
See what you need to become a CPA in your state
Download your FREE State CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in your state!
How to Become a CPA in West Virginia
Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in West Virginia. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensured details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.
CPA Exam Requirements
Credit Requirements: 120 Semester Hours
Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate
Additional Requirements: 30 semester hours or equivalent quarter hours in of upper division accounting courses, including 6 hours of taxation. 27 semester hours or equivalent quarter hours of business courses, including 3 hours in ethics and 2 hours in business law.
Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not required
Minimum Age: 18
Additional Requirements: It is necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state
Social Security Requirement: Yes
Educational Requirement: 150 hours including Bachelor's Degree
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Experience Requirements: 1 year general experience completed during the four-year period prior to applying for licensure.
Ethics Exam: None
|Initial Application Fee||$10|
*$40 re-examination application fee