New Mexico CPA Requirements
Wondering what it takes to become a licensed CPA in New Mexico?
See what you need to become a CPA in your state
Download your FREE State CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in your state!
How to Become a CPA in New Mexico
Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in New Mexico. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensured details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.
CPA Exam Requirements
Credit Requirements: 150 semester units (225 quarter units)
Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate with 150 semester units
Additional Requirements: 30 Semester hours or equivalent quarter hours in accounting or auditing, including 15 hours completed in-person; excluding finance courses; and no more than 3 hours in business law
Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not required
Minimum Age: None
Additional Requirements: It is not necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state
Social Security Requirement: Yes
Educational Requirement: 150 Semester hours (including Bachelor's Degree) with 30 hours in accounting
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Experience Requirements: 1 year experience of part time or full time, paid or volunteer work experience supervised by a licensed CPA, completed in government, industry, academia, or public practice within a time period of 1-3 years. Must be obtained in the 7 years leading up to taking the CPA Exam, or within 7 years after passing the CPA Exam, and be documented using the Work Experience Verification form.
Ethics Exam: Must pass AICPA Professional Ethics Exam
|Initial Application Fees||$160|
*$85 re-examination application fee