Nevada CPA Requirements
Wondering what it takes to become a licensed CPA in Nevada?
See what you need to become a CPA in your state
Download your FREE State CPA Requirements Guide to learn everything you need to become a CPA in your state!
How to Become a CPA in Nevada
Welcome to your one-stop-shop for CPA Requirements in Nevada. Navigate through the tabs below for a comprehensive overview of your state’s specific CPA requirements, including: education and residency requirements, licensure details, who to contact, and how much the exam costs.
CPA Exam Requirements
Credit Requirements: 120 semester units (180 quarter units)
Minimum Degree: Baccalaureate
Additional Requirements: If degree is not in accounting, 21 semester hours of accounting subjects above introductory level are required, including: 9 hours of financial accounting (intermedia I, II, III, or advanced), 3 hours of cost accounting, 3 hours of auditing, 3 hours of federal income tax, and 3 hours of business law
Citizenship: U.S. Citizenship is not required
Minimum Age: None
Additional Requirements: It is necessary to be a resident, employee, or keep office(s) in the state
Social Security Requirement:
Educational Requirement: 150 hours (including Bachelor's Degree). Must include 30 semester hours of accounting courses above introductory level and 24 semester hours of business at the undergrad or graduate level
Participates in International Exam Program: Yes
Experience Requirements: 2 years of public accounting experience including 1,000 hours in attest function (700/1,000 hours must be in audit); or 4 years of non-public accounting experience
*Cannot combine public and non-public experience
Ethics Exam: Must pass Rules of Professional Conduct exam no more than 3 years prior to submitting license application, complete background check and fingerprinting, and provide 3 character references
|Initial Application Fee||$100|
*$50 re-examination application fee